Study Overseas Process

Sign up for free

expert consultation

I accept the Terms & Conditions

Personalized Services
Don't know what to do?

Get Free Counseling

Posted on November 18 2022

Travel 29 countries with Schengen Visa from now!

By Editor
Updated June 07 2023

Highlights: Countries to travel with Schengen Visa

  • Earlier with the Schengen visa, one could travel to 26 countries. Now, the list is set to expand.
  • Romania, Croatia, and Bulgaria would provide mobility access to the nation with Schengen visas.
  • The European Commission has stated that these countries are eligible to join the Schengen zone.
  • The Schengen zone is the largest borderless and passport-free region. Abstract: The amended Schengen visa will facilitate travel to more countries like Bulgaria, Romania, and Croatia. Croatia, Bulgaria, and Romania will be joining the borderless zone of Schengen, the European Commission has stated. Bulgaria and Romania qualified in the Schengen evaluation, a decade ago in 2011. The EU Council has to approve the 3 countries joining the other 26 countries currently counted in the Schengen zone. *Want to visit Schengen? Y-Axis offers the expert assistance.

What changes lay ahead for the 3 nations with Schengen visas?

With the 3 countries joining the Schengen zone, it would imply that travelers having the Schengen visa have access to other countries in the Schengen zone as well as Romania, Croatia, and Bulgaria without having to show an identity card or passport. Croatia has been a member of the EU or European Union since 2013. Bulgaria and Romania have been members of the EU since 2007, but they are not considered to be a part of the Schengen region. It implies that an identity card or passport is required to facilitate entering these countries when arriving from another country in the Schengen zone. Read more… EU to create easier Schengen Visa via digitalization How long will it take to process your visa to US, UK & Schengen? Top 5 amazing EU destinations to visit in 2023, as per National Geographic

When will the changes come into effect?

Starting from January 1, 2023, Croatia will be lifting its border measures with other countries in the Schengen zone. The official date to join the Schengen zone has not been announced by Romania and Bulgaria. The final decision is to be taken by the EU Council. The members of the council are heads of the government part of the countries, which are part of the EU. The final decision will be made concerning integrating the 3 countries on December 9, 2022. A positive result to the vote will imply that the border controls of Croatia with other Schengen countries on sea and land will be terminated from January 1, 2023. The airport restrictions will be abolished from March 26, 2023.

What currency will Croatia use?

Currently, visitors to Croatia have to go for currency exchange as the country has its own currency, that is, the Kuna. 1 Croatian Kuna is approximately 0.13 Euros. From next year, Croatia will start using the euro. The country will be joining the other 19 countries in the zone that will use the currency. The change in the currency in Croatia will bring financial security to its citizens and improve the standard of living. It would also help in containing inflation, which means that travelers can expect lesser fluctuations in prices. Want to visit Schengen countries? Contact Y-Axis, the leading Visa Consultant of Australia. If you found this news article helpful, you may want to read… Top 5 Halloween Destinations of Europe in 2022


Schengen Visa

Visit Schengen


Y-Axis Services

Personalized Services

Get it on your mobile

Personalized Services

Get News alerts

Personalized Services

Contact Y-Axis

Latest Article

Popular Post

Trending Article

Trending article image

Posted On November 24 2023

UK immigration skyrockets: 672,000 migrants set a new record in 2023