Norway marks green countries yellow, all in good intention

Norway quarantine for high risk countries

The Norway government has made a significant new announcement. All countries that were marked as green countries (safe as to the low risk of COVID-19) on the travel advisory have now been marked yellow. This decision was made after observing an increase in COVID-19 cases of infection in many of the earlier green countries.

Erna Solberg, the Prime Minister of Norway gave out her opinion that with the chances of catching an infection is prevalent in any country now, there is in real terms no basis to consider any country to be ‘green’.

Nevertheless, the change in marking of the green countries to yellow will not make it compulsory for travelers, arriving with Norway visit visa, from those countries mandatory. The new decision is only meant to put Norwegian citizens on alert and have them rethink about all non-essential travel abroad to any country.

Erna Solberg also emphasized on the point that such measures are meant to avoid misunderstanding and make the choice for the better to avoid all non-essential trips abroad. She also said that as long as Norway upholds the recommendation to its citizens to avoid non-essential travel, the country would want to classify world countries as only red or yellow.

Yellow countries are those with a moderate level of COVID-19 pandemic risk. The ones that were earlier green were considered to have a low rate of infections. Now, Norway considers all countries as yellow countries. But still, the travelers, as on Norway tourist visa, from those countries aren’t obliged to follow quarantine measures while entering Norway.

The countries that are marked red and the travelers from which have to go into quarantine are:

  • Czech Republic
  • Bulgaria
  • Romania
  • Poland
  • Iceland
  • Netherlands
  • Belgium
  • Portugal
  • Spain

Most EU countries, marked as a shaded area, are also subject to quarantine measures.

The Norwegian Institute of Public Health is the body in Norway that constantly evaluates the COVID-19 situation in other countries. It does regular updates of the list of safe and unsafe countries every 14 days.

Norway will also not open borders for 12 non-EU countries which were recommended by the EU Commission as safe. Norway insists on being sure of the epidemiological status of the country before opening borders to them.

If you are looking to Study, Work, Visit, Invest or Migrate to Europe, talk to Y-Axis, the World’s No.1 Immigration & Visa Company.

If you found this blog engaging, you may also like…

The new UK Health and Care visa is available, apply now

About author View all posts

Anshul Singhal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

13 + 1 =