More Schengen nations open their borders to neighbors

Hungary Slovakia Czech open borders

More countries in the EU are beginning to reopen their borders to each other months after the outbreak of COVID-19 pandemic. The immigration process has also been made responsive to the changing situation.

Now, the Czech Republic, Slovenia, and Hungary have agreed to reopen their borders to each other. This was announced by Peter Szijjarto, Hungary’s Minister of Foreign Affairs and Trade.

As per the agreement reached, citizens of these countries can stay in each other’s countries for up to 48 hours without quarantine being imposed. This may be among the first steps taken carefully to later facilitate resuming the full function of the Schengen tourist visa.

The Hungarian government had already decided to open its border with Siberia, while the border with Romania have already been opened. This was following the slump in the number of COVID-19 cases in these countries.

The Czech Republic has started to reopen its border crossings with Germany and Austria. This decision got approval on May 25, 2020. Border crossing will be allowed only at designated areas until at least June 13, 2020.

The Government of Slovakia had maintained its internal border controls with the Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland, and Austria until May 27, 2020. This was with the intention of stopping the spread of COVID-19 infection.

Hungary has also announced that travelers coming to Hungary will be checked at ports of entry. This will be implemented by the Hungarian police with the assistance of the OMSZ (National Ambulance Service).

 If you are looking to Study, Work, Visit, Invest or Migrate to EU, talk to Y-Axis, the World’s No.1 Immigration & Visa Company.

If you found this blog engaging, you may also like…

The pay facts in the US for H-1B visa holders revealed

About author View all posts

Anshul Singhal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

eighteen − fifteen =