Portugal reopens its sky borders to more countries

Portugal allows flights from EU

Upon the recommendation of the European Council, Portugal has started approving flights to and from its territory to the UK, European Union (EU), and Schengen Zone.

Now, the country is also considering approving flights from those countries that have shown a positive result in epidemiological evaluation and are subject to confirmation of reciprocity.

Outside the EU the following countries will be allowed to enter Portugal:

  • China
  • Tunisia
  • Morocco
  • South Korea
  • Canada
  • Algeria

The exceptions for essential journeys include flights from countries where Portuguese is spoken and the US. Also, considering Brazil, only flights from Rio de Janeiro and Sao Paulo in Brazil will be permitted in Portugal.

The definition of “essential trips” include citizens of the EU and Schengen Area and their families. Also, nationals of third countries traveling for a family reunion, study, health, work, or humanitarian reasons provided they maintain reciprocity as a principle.

Those who are arriving in Portugal from the US and Portuguese-speaking countries must show proof of the COVID-19 test showing negative results at the time of their departure.

In yet another positive development, Portugal and Spain have reopened their shared border. Portugal has also started welcoming tourists from 15 countries outside the EU deemed ‘safe’. This move of welcoming travelers on Portugal tourist visa was made upon the recommendation of the EU Council.

If you are looking to Study, Work, Visit, Invest or Migrate to Europe, talk to Y-Axis, the World’s No.1 Immigration & Visa Company.

If you found this blog engaging, you may also like…

Immigrant workers make a big difference in Europe

About author View all posts

Anshul Singhal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

one × 2 =