Norway will have a new digital system for registering migrants

Norway will introduce new digital system

From January 2021, those who want to enter Norway as if on a visitor visa will have to first register themselves with a new digital system. This was announced by Norway’s Ministry of Justice & Public Security. Travelers will have to submit information like their name, contact information, quarantine location, and employer if any.

Aimed at controlling the spread of the COVID-19 pandemic through migration overseas, this new system will be used as a tool in many sectors, as stated by Monica Mæland, the Minister of Justice & Emergency Management.

The health and fisheries sectors of Norway that expect a significant influx of international workers will benefit from this new system. The check on the COVID-19 status of travelers will help in screening out the risky people from entering the country, be it new skilled workers or the seasonal workers coming to Norway.

Norway continues to warn its people against non-essential travels to countries like:

Bulgaria Belgium
Lithuania Ireland
Croatia Liechtenstein
Luxembourg Andorra
Cyprus Iceland
Estonia France
Greece Italy
Latvia Malta

Other countries Norway urges its citizens not to travel to include

Czech Republic Vatican City State
Germany Poland
Switzerland The Netherlands
Sweden Romania
Hungary Slovenia
Slovakia Austria
Portugal Spain
San Marino The UK
Few regions of Denmark and Finland  

In early December 2020, the Norway government decided to exempt researchers of third-countries from an entry ban. But they must be able to finance themselves. Also, commuters from Finland and Sweden who enter Norway more than once during 15 consecutive days won’t be made to follow quarantine rules.

If you are looking to Study, Work, Visit, Invest or Migrate to Europe, talk to Y-Axis, the World’s No.1 Immigration & Visa Company.

If you found this blog engaging, you may also like…

Education in the UK – Why it’s the best for international students

About author View all posts

Anshul Singhal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

sixteen + four =