Iceland waives travel checks on 14safe countries

Iceland lifts travel restrictions

Iceland has decided to remove travel restrictions for nationals arriving from 14 countries treated by the EU as safe as on July 15, 2020. Iceland also has exempted EFTA and EEA nationals from travel restrictions imposed to prevent COVID-19 spread. Residents and citizens coming from the Vatican, San Marino, Monaco, and Andorra are also granted an exemption.

The countries Iceland will not subject to travel restrictions include:

  • Uruguay
  • Tunisia
  • Thailand
  • South Korea
  • Serbia
  • Rwanda
  • New Zealand
  • Morocco
  • Montenegro
  • Japan
  • Georgia
  • Canada
  • Australia
  • Algeria

This list will be changed regularly. Exemptions for essential travel stays unchanged. So, specialists traveling for essential work in Australia and students from outside the Schengen area will continue to be allowed to enter the country.

Iceland has also announced that residents and citizens who opt to be tested upon arrival in Iceland will have to go through a second round of PCR-test. This will be done free of charge for them within 4 to 5 days after arrival.

The government of Iceland has also decided to reduce the price of the COVID-19 tests done at the Keflavik International Airport.

From June 15, 2020, passengers arriving in Iceland could choose whether they want to get tested for COVID-19 or undergo quarantine for 14 days.

If you are looking to Study, Work, Visit, Invest or Migrate to Europe, talk to Y-Axis, the World’s No.1 Immigration & Visa Company.

If you found this blog engaging, you may also like…

Over 70 countries on the exempt list from UK’s COVID-19 restrictions

About author View all posts

Anshul Singhal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

three × 4 =