Germany to stop keeping EU citizens and Britons away

Germany exempts Britons

The Federal Republic of Germany has decided to exempt Britons and all nationals of the European Union (EU) from all quarantine rules. This applies to those arriving by land and air.

The exempted people from Germany migration will also include UK passport holders who will no more be EU citizens after December 2020.

Germany has decided to make quarantine rule applies only to those coming from EU countries with a large number of COVID-19 infections.

For travelers arriving from outside European Economic Area (EEA), the rule of compulsory quarantine for 2 weeks upon arrival in Germany is still applied.

Though this new decision is made by Horst Seehofer, the Federal Interior Minister, each German state is free to set its own rules as is necessary.

There is a feeling in Germany that this measure will replenish and restart economic and social ties with neighboring countries. Commerce and tourism will benefit from it greatly.

Germany’s border controls with Austria, Switzerland, and France will be in force till June 15, 2020. So shall be the control on airside borders with Italy and Spain.

The move to open Germany’s borders with Denmark will be mutually decided soon.

Another country ready to open borders with Germany, France, and Austria is Switzerland. If the epidemiological situation is favorable, Switzerland will open borders on June 15, 2020.

If you are looking to Study, Work, Visit, Invest or Migrate to Germany, talk to Y-Axis, the World’s No.1 Immigration & Visa Company.

If you found this blog engaging, you may also like…

Curbs removed for travel in and out of Italy, starting June 3

About author View all posts

Anshul Singhal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

11 − seven =