Germany lets 11 safe nations to enter the country from July 2

Germany allows 11 countries

Starting July 2, 2020, 11 third countries will be eligible to come into Germany as on a Germany visit visa. These countries are named as ‘safe’ third countries in the list prepared by the EU Council. The decision on this was taken on July 1, 2020, by the German Federal Cabinet.

The decision was in line with the recommendation of the Council of the European Union. This recommendation was made on June 30, 2020. It suggested to the Schengen associated countries and EU member states to remove restrictions on entry for the residents of 15 third countries that were identified as safe.

The 11 countries Germany has allowed to enter are:

  • Uruguay
  • Tunisia
  • Thailand
  • South Korea
  • New Zealand
  • Montenegro
  • Japan
  • Georgia
  • China
  • Canada
  • Australia

Residents of these countries will be able to enter Germany without COVID-19 test or quarantine measures applied to them. However, residents of China, South Korea, and Japan will be allowed to enter Germany only if they let the nationals of Germany to enter into their countries.

Certain categories of travelers arriving from countries other than these 11 can enter Germany from July 2. These categories are:

  • passengers in transit traffic
  • late repatriates
  • humanitarian workers, military personnel, personnel from international organizations, and diplomats in the course of their duties
  • persons requiring international protection or protection for other humanitarian reasons
  • foreign family members arriving by family reunification and visiting trips for urgent family reasons
  • international students who cannot carry out their studies entirely from abroad
  • seafarers
  • seasonal workers in agriculture
  • personnel in goods transport and other transport personnel
  • highly qualified employees including foreign specialists, whose work is essential from an economic point of view and whose work isn’t postponed or can be carried out abroad
  • geriatric nursing staff, health researchers, and health personnel
  • Union citizens, German nationals, and third-country nationals having an existing right of residence in Germany

Though such entry options are provided by Germany, every federal state in the country follows a quarantine obligation. This bases itself on the Infection Protection Act. The Act applies for travelers who are incoming and returning from the areas of risk as given in the Robert Koch Institute (RKI).

Those who present negative test results for COVID-19 are also exempted from quarantine measures.

If you are looking to Study, Work, Visit, Invest or Migrate to Germany, talk to Y-Axis, the World’s No.1 Immigration & Visa Company.

If you found this blog engaging, you may also like…

Third country workers to be allowed in Switzerland from July 6

About author View all posts

Anshul Singhal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

eleven + 11 =