EU to open borders to Balkan countries from July 1

EU open Western Balkan border

For the past 3 months, the borders of the Schengen area were closed to nationals of non-EU and EEA nations.

Now, 6 Balkan countries will become the first among third-countries to be permitted to travel, as with a visitor visa, to the Schengen area from July 1, 2020.

The 6 Balkan countries are:

  • Serbia
  • Montenegro
  • North Macedonia
  • Kosovo
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Albania

The European Commission has placed its recommendations before the Schengen member countries and Schengen associated countries. These include:

  • Extending temporary restriction on non-essential trips to EU nations until June 30, 2020
  • Remove travel restrictions in parts and gradually, keeping in mind the objectives set for each third-country

The COVID-19 conditions in the 6 Balkan countries are now at a similar or better level as in the EU.

The Commission is of the opinion that lifting border restrictions with any country will be subject to the epidemiological condition and COVID-19 response in that country.

If you are looking to Study, Work, Visit, Invest or Migrate to Europe, talk to Y-Axis, the World’s No.1 Immigration & Visa Company.

If you found this blog engaging, you may also like…

Slovenia reopens borders with 17 chosen countries

About author View all posts

Anshul Singhal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

10 + four =